Sometimes…moms are amazing.

Dillon’s IV pole has 9 pumps on it, part of his 40-medication regimen that is hopefully healing him. The shirt says it all….

For months, I’ve been trying to figure out how to write about a boy we know, Dillon, who is fighting horrible cancer. He and his mother Shari have been in Denver for months as he receives a bone marrow transplant.

I haven’t been able to come up with something that conveys my amazement to be even a distant participant in a process that terrifies all mothers. But I don’t need to. Dillon’s mom, Shari, is doing an amazing job and here, she write something we from the heart.

****

October 9, 2012

Sometimes….

Sometimes as I sit in this darkened hospital room with monitors flashing, machines beeping, oxygen blowing, I listen to the soft breath of my child as he sleeps, with tears streaming down my cheeks I still cannot believe that this is our reality…

Sometimes as I sit in this darkened hospital room with monitors flashing, machines beeping, oxygen blowing, I listen to the soft breath of my child as he sleeps, with tears streaming down my cheeks I still cannot believe my baby has cancer and has to endure the unthinkable…..

Sometimes as I sit in this darkened hospital room with monitors flashing, machines beeping, oxygen blowing, I listen to the soft breath of my child as he sleeps, with tears streaming down my cheeks I still cannot believe that I am hundreds of miles away from my husband and other child……

Sometimes as I sit in this darkened hospital room with monitors flashing, machines beeping, oxygen blowing, I listen to the soft breath of my child as he sleeps, with tears streaming down my cheeks I still cannot believe that there are worse things in life than having cancer and I find myself feeling grateful that my boy has something that is curable or at least fightable and he will not be afflicted for a lifetime…..

Sometimes as I sit in this darkened hospital room with monitors flashing, machines beeping, oxygen blowing, I listen to the soft breath of my child as he sleeps, with tears streaming down my cheeks I still cannot believe that all of this will be a distant memory some day and my baby will grow into an amazing man.
****
Dillon is now recovering slowly, but surely. Visit Shari’s blog to follow his progress.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes…moms are amazing.

  1. So happy to know he is recovering. As you know my son Jack is a brain cancer survivor, 2 years cancer free! He was diagnosed at age 19 and is doing well. Hardest thing ever to go through as a mom…

  2. Elizabeth Naylor says:

    This is a wonderful piece of writing! Thanks to you and to Shari for putting it out there. I am a transplant survivor as well (December 31, 2012 was my day +1000) and today I’m doing great! I work with parents who have children with cancer and would love to share this piece with them. Would that be alright? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

