Trusting That I Can, Day 18: Loving what is right here

One of the things about trust is that it can easily turn into wishful thinking. “I trust that  things will work out (my way).” “I trust that abundance will flow into my life.” “I trust that everything is the way it should be.”

I believe that last one is true, or I’m working hard on believing it. But at some point, if you take this line of thinking seriously, you have to end up at the bad stuff. As in illness, accidents, poverty, death – how are these supposed to be the way it should be? My BS detector goes into high alert. That’s when a line of exploration either flies or flops.

One thing that has helped me navigate this stuff is Byron Katie’s work. Her book Loving What Is deals with just this point about life’s bad stuff. The way you know that what is supposed to be is…because it’s happening. She posits that the universe’s version of what is happening (versus what I want to be going on) is also the gentlest and best.

I’ll be chewing on that for a long time, but she has taken this principle straight through as far as it can go, working with Holocaust survivors, murderers and rape victims. Her work is hard to grasp at time, but it is nuanced and follows a thin clear line of truth.

So instead of redoubling efforts to visualize more abundance, trust, love, whatever, I need to put my feet flat on the ground and look at what is around me. Look hard for the way the present is lovable and right because it is. Um, another one to chew on, but it makes total sense. It forces me to go deeper . Humans have never transcended pain, misery, betrayal. We have transcended in spite of them.

When work isn’t to be found, when — hello — politicians lie, when a child dies, when genocides occur, there is apparently, a calm source to access. People can and have done this. I can’t, but that’s the heart of where I’m trying to go.

This post is part of a series of posts on trust, based on the 21-Day Salutes originated by blogger Colleen Wainwright. The intention is to write daily to help shift a habit. Originally, she had been told that it takes 21 days of new behavior to change a habit. She has since found out that it is apparently takes much longer. Oh well….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trusting That I Can, Day 18: Loving what is right here

  1. Christine says:

    I so relate . I too when asked feel a necessity to answer honestly and although they don’t want to hear my explanation or my defending. I then feel emabarrased and get tongue tied.
    And those super positive people booming with happiness, I think they are not that happy and I want to say “get over yourself”
    Today I will try to be grateful fir the extra laundry.

Leave a Reply

