Trusting That I Can, Day 2: I eats me spinach

The babies

We’ve got a little vegetable garden in which I recently planted spinach seeds.

Experience has shown that greens grow best in this little high-altitude garden. That and the fact that greens are incredibly easy, which is a boon for people like me who like to garden, but who don’t necessarily want to immerse themselves in gardening technicalities the way my friend  Kristen does. She grows a wide variety of wonderful foods at an even higher altitude for our farmer’s markets. She thrives on the specifics of what conditions different plants need, plus she is a freelance writer who milks goats twice a day and cares for llamas. Yipes.

I usually start with small plants from the store. But this year, based on Kristen’s advice, I just plunked the seeds into the (somewhat carefully prepared) dirt, watered, and waited. Because I have an essentially Eeyore-like nature (“Ohhhh, nothing good ever happens to meeeeeee.”) and also because my experience with those little plant kits from hobby stores is that they never germinate, I planted the entire packet in seven neat little rows, sure that very few, if any, would come up.

Ten day later, as the packet instructions promised, there was…nothing.

Two weeks later…nothing.

My inner Eeyore vindicated, I check with Kristen, who kindly said it was possible the entire packet was part of a bad batch, but suspected that something would soon pop up.

I stopped watching, stopped making these poor seeds give Eeyore more fuel, (“Everyone else can grow plants from seed, but not meeee”), but I did keep watering.

And low and behold, a few days ago, way behind my schedule but entirely following their own, some tiny green sprouts appeared. The next day there were more.

And then more.

It’s beginning to look like the entire packet has worked. I may end up with way too many spinach plants! All that inner self-dissing over something beyond my control – dirt, sun, seeds, water — and I may end up with a much nicer problem on my hands.

Now it’s time for the chard. My plan: just keep watering.

 

This post is part of a series of posts on trust, based on the 21-Day Salutes originated by blogger Colleen Wainwright. The intention is to write daily to help shift a habit. Originally, she had been told that it takes 21 days of new behavior to change a habit. She has since found out that it is apparently takes much longer. Oh well….

This entry was posted in 21-Day Salute, Family life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Trusting That I Can, Day 2: I eats me spinach

  1. Kristen says:

    Yay!! They came up! (Did you ever have that really little kids (toddler) book called “The Carrot Seed”? We read it over and over and over….. “And then ….. one….. day ……. THE CARROT CAME UP! Just as the little boy had known it would.”). Mine came up in about 20 days, too– just slow I guess.

    • growingmygirls says:

      Oh, I need that book! Never have seen it but maybe I should get a copy and put it by my morning mirror. Glad to know my seeds are behaving like yours. Enjoying the seed community here.

  2. Roslyn Rawls says:

    It sounds like you’re going to need spinach recipes!

    • growingmygirls says:

      Yep — for sure, since I’m the only one in my family who really likes spinach. But, I do really like it, so I’ll manage.

  3. christine says:

    Yippee! You are off to a great start. Rainy day here. What fun to have little greens coming up.
    I am impressed.

  4. First Gen American says:

    Inner Eeyore..i love it. We nicknamed a guy at work Eeyore.

  5. Pingback: Trusting That I Can, Day 3: Suddenly, a family! | growingmygirls

Leave a Reply

